Office: BSE 1.104D
Phone: (210) 458-6896
Email: stephen.bach@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Chemical imaging
» Mass spectrometry
» Metal clusters
» Nanomaterials

Office: BSE 1.104C
Phone: (210) 458-5461
Email: banglin.chen@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Functionalization of nano-sized cavities
» Nanoparticles
» Nanoporous metal-organic frameworks
Office: BSE 1.104G
Phone: (210) 458-4196
Email: michael.doyle@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Catalytic oxidation processes
» Design and development of chiral catalysts
» Diazo chemistry
» Highly enantioselective catalytic reactions
» Medicinal chemistry
Office: BSE 1.104E
Phone: (210) 458-7005
Email: walter.ermler@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Computational spectroscopy
» Modeling heavy-element compounds
» Theoretical chemistry
Office: BSE 4.258
Phone: (210) 458-7048
Email: doug.frantz@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric catalysis
» Heterocyclic synthesis
» Medicinal chemistry
» Physical organic chemistry
» Process chemistry
Office: AET 1.363
Phone: (210) 458-7553
Email: john.frederick@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Chemical physics
Waldemar Gorski

Professor and Department Chair

Office: BSE 1.104M
Phone: (210) 458-4961
Email: waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Electrochemical enzyme assays
» Electrochemical (bio)sensors and modified electrodes
» Electrode films
Hyunsoo Han

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 1.104K
Phone: (210) 458-5456
Email: hyunsoo.han@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric catalysis
» Organic synthesis
» Polymer and combinatorial chemistry
Office: BSE 4.117
Phone: (210) 458-6050
Email: oleg.larionov@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Enantioselective catalysis
» Medicinal chemistry
» Synthesis of biologically active natural products

Office: BSE 4.206
Phone: (210) 458-7062
Email: Feradical@utsa.edu | aimin.liu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Cofactor biosynthesis
» Mechanistic enzymology
» Metabolism
» Oxygen activation
» Protein biochemistry
» Redox regulation

Stanton McHardy

Associate Professor
Director, Center for Innovative Drug Discovery

Office: SRL 1.438
Phone: (210) 458-8676
Email: stanton.mchardy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Medicinal chemistry
» Small molecule drug discovery in cancer, infectious disease, and neuroscience areas
» Synthesis of natural products
» Synthetic methodology
Ghezai T. Musie

Associate Professor and graduate advisor of record
Lab Website

Office: BSE 1.104F
Phone: (210) 458-5454
Email: ghezai.musie@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Catalysis and materials
» Green chemistry
» Inorganic chemistry
Office: BSE 4.322
Phone: (210) 458-6813
Email: kirk.schanze@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Conjugated polymers
» Luminescence imaging
» Photochemistry and photophysics
» Photoresponsive materials
Office: BSE 1.104B
Phone: (210) 458-5465
Email: zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Catalysis
» Kinetics and mechanism of inorganic reactions
» Odd-electron organometallics
» Synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry
Francis K. Yoshimoto

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.104H
Phone: (210) 458-5459
Email: francis.yoshimoto@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Enzyme mechanism
» Mass spectrometry
» Target-oriented synthesis
John C.-G. Zhao


Office: BSE 1.104A
Phone: (210) 458-5432
Email: cong.zhao@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric synthesis and reactions
» Oxidation
» Phosphorus chemistry
» Small ring compound

Non-Tenure Track

Hector Aguilar

Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.08C
Phone: (210) 458-5455
Email: hector.aguilar@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Chemical Biology, Medicinal Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
» Induction of stem cell differentiation by small molecules

Hadi Arman

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.08D
Phone: (210) 458-5757
Email: hadi.arman@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Crystal engineering focusing on hydrogen and halogen bonding interactions
» Departmental x-ray crystallographer

Mark Davidson

Lecturer II

Office: MS 2.02.36A
Phone: (210) 458-8229
Email: mark.davidson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Basic and General Chemistry
» Physical Chemistry Lab

Victoria Dougherty

Lecturer III and undergraduate advisor of record

Office: FLN 1.01.08A
Phone: (210) 458-5473
Email: victoria.dougherty@utsa.edu

Keegan Gold

Lecturer II

Office: BSE 1.104L
Phone: (210) 458-5774
Email: keegan.gold@utsa.edu

Andrea Kelley

Lecturer II

Office: BSE 0.106
Phone: (210) 458-7055
Email: andrea.kelley@utsa.edu

Sarah Oerther

Lecturer II

Office: MS 2.02.36B
Phone: (210) 458-8230
Email: sarah.agudelo@utsa.edu

Raymond Sadeghi

Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 3.01.28
Phone: (210) 458-5747
Email: raymond.sadeghi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Simulation of chemical reactions
» Simulation of photodissociation dynamics
» Theoretical chemistry
Susan Thomas

Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.08B
Phone: (210) 458-7051
Email: susan.thomas@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Allied health sciences chemistry
» Basic and general chemistry
» Biophysical chemistry

Joint Appointments

Mahmoud Abdelwahed

Associate Professor

Office: AET 1.353, UTSA
Phone: (210) 458-7011
Email: mahmoud.abdelwahed@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Computational modeling of nanomaterials
» Development of new 1-D, 2-D, and 3-D smart functional materials
» Nanocatalysis and photocatalysis at a single particle and single-molecule resolution
» Renewable energy
» Spectroscopy and photophysics of nanomaterials

Jenny Hsieh


Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email:  jenny.hsieh@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Epilepsy 
» Neurogenesis 
» Stem cells

Ambika Mathur

Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Phone: (210) 458-6405
Office: MS 4.01.76
Email: Ambika.Mathur@utsa.edu

George Perry


Phone: (210) 458-4450
Email: george.perry@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer’s disease
» Neurobiology
» Oxidative stress

Professor Emeritus

Harry Wellington Jarett III

Professor Emeritus

Email: harry.jarrett@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Muscular Dystrophy and signal transduction
» Transcription factor purification

Judith A. Walmsley

Professor Emeritus

Email: judith.walmsley@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization
» Biomolecular structure
» Inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry
» Nucleotide structures

Retired Faculty


Email: donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

» Bioinorganic chemistry

» Non-heme iron enzymes


Email: george.negrete@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

» Asymmetric synthesis

» β-Homoamino acids

» Chemical carcinogenesis

» Green chemistry

» Novel lipopeptides